TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Toyota has added a factory North American Charging Standard (NACS) port and DC fast-charging capability to every trim of the 2027 RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid. The SE and GR Sport also gain 11-kilowatt AC charging; Toyota’s stated maximum DC charging rate is 50 kW.
Toyota has added a factory NACS charging port and DC fast-charging capability to every trim of the 2027 RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid, extending the feature beyond the more expensive versions offered previously. The update builds on the model covered in our 2026 RAV4 Woodland PHEV review. The update matters to buyers who want access to compatible fast-charging stations without choosing a higher trim or relying on an adapter.
According to InsideEVs, the 2027 model’s port is positioned near the driver’s-side door, replacing the passenger-side location on the prior version. The report says the vehicle can charge at up to 50 kilowatts, with a 10% to 80% charge taking about 30 minutes under the stated conditions. Charging times can vary with factors such as battery temperature and charger output.
The change expands DC fast charging to the entry SE trim, which the report lists at $42,100, as well as the GR Sport. For the previous model year, InsideEVs says the capability was limited to the XSE and Woodland trims and required paying at least $4,000 more than the entry version. The report does not specify whether the cited SE price includes destination fees or applies to every market.
Home charging remains available through the RAV4 PHEV’s onboard AC charger. The SE and GR Sport are reported to gain 11-kilowatt AC charging, up from 7 kW, while the XSE and Woodland already had an 11 kW rating. The vehicle is also reported to retain an EPA-estimated electric range of up to 52 miles from its 22.7-kilowatt-hour battery; that figure describes electric driving range, not charging performance.
More Charging Choice Across Trims
The update changes which RAV4 PHEV buyers can use public DC fast charging, rather than simply adding a new connector to one premium version. With the feature included across the lineup, buyers choosing the SE or GR Sport no longer have to move to the XSE or Woodland just to get the reported fast-charging hardware. That could make shorter charging stops more accessible to owners on errands or trips, although a plug-in hybrid’s battery is much smaller than the battery in a typical fully electric vehicle.
A factory NACS port also gives owners access to compatible stations with NACS cables, including Tesla Superchargers where the vehicle and station are supported. This may simplify public charging for drivers who previously faced connector differences. The port’s new position could affect how easily the vehicle reaches a cable at particular sites, especially older stations designed around other port locations.
Products Worth Considering

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 25-Foot Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug

Autel MaxiCharger AC Home 50A Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired, J1772, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 25 ft Cable

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From CCS to Factory NACS
InsideEVs reports that the sixth-generation RAV4 PHEV launched with a CCS port, while DC fast charging was limited to the XSE and Woodland. The 2027 change brings NACS and fast charging to all trims, according to the report. It also places the port on the driver’s side, a practical difference because automakers and charging networks do not use one universal vehicle-port location.
The report contrasts the RAV4’s connector with other plug-in hybrids that can DC fast charge, naming the Mercedes-Benz GLC 350e with CCS and the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV with CHAdeMO. Its description of the RAV4 as the first and only major U.S. plug-in hybrid with a native NACS port is the publication’s characterization; the source material does not provide an independent industry-wide survey to verify that superlative.
“The 2027 Toyota RAV4 PHEV can charge at a maximum rate of 50 kilowatts.”
— InsideEVs
Pricing and Station Compatibility
The source report does not give a complete 2027 trim-by-trim price list, an on-sale date, or details about possible market-specific equipment. The $42,100 figure is provided for the SE, but the report does not state whether that amount includes destination charges. Toyota’s own published specifications and final sales information would clarify those details.
Compatibility and charging speed can depend on the station, vehicle software, battery conditions and cable reach. The report says newer V4 Superchargers and several newer networks have longer cables, while older V3 Superchargers may be more difficult to use because they were designed around a different port position. It does not provide station-by-station compatibility information or independent testing of the stated charging time.
Watch for Toyota’s Final Specifications
Buyers should look for Toyota’s final 2027 RAV4 PHEV specifications, including confirmed prices, delivery timing and any charging requirements. Checking station compatibility and cable reach before a trip will help owners account for the driver-side port position. The source material does not identify a further announcement date or confirm when all trims will reach dealerships.
Key Questions
Which 2027 RAV4 PHEV trims get NACS and DC fast charging?
According to InsideEVs, all trims receive a factory NACS port and DC fast-charging capability, including the SE, XSE, Woodland and GR Sport.
How fast can the 2027 RAV4 PHEV charge at a DC station?
The report gives a maximum DC charging rate of 50 kW and estimates about 30 minutes for a 10% to 80% charge. Real-world results can vary.
Which trims gain faster home charging?
The SE and GR Sport are reported to gain 11 kW AC charging, up from 7 kW. The XSE and Woodland were already rated at 11 kW, according to the report.
Where is the charging port on the 2027 model?
The port is reported to be near the driver’s-side door, rather than on the passenger side as on the previous version. Cable reach may differ by charging site.
What is the RAV4 PHEV’s electric driving range?
InsideEVs reports an EPA-estimated range of up to 52 miles from the 22.7-kilowatt-hour battery. The source does not provide a separate confirmed 2027 range figure beyond that statement.
Source: insideevs.com
