AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get garage and car supplies delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Mahindra says its Charge_iN public EV charging network has expanded to 50 locations in India. The newest site, at an HPCL Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway, is the first operating under the companies’ agreement to add chargers at HPCL retail outlets.

Mahindra’s Charge_iN public electric-vehicle charging network has expanded to 50 locations in India, with its latest station opening at an HPCL Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway. It is the first Charge_iN site to become operational under Mahindra’s collaboration with Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited (HPCL), which aims to add EV charging infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets.

The new site is on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway, described in the source report as one of India’s busiest inter-city corridors. Mahindra said the Charge_iN network is positioned along major highway routes, with stations co-located with amenities such as restaurants and cafés. The report did not specify the station’s opening date or the number of chargers installed at this location.

According to the report, Charge_iN stations feature 180-kilowatt dual-gun chargers. Mahindra says they can charge its Electric Origin SUV models: the XEV 9e, BE 6 SPORTEQ and XEV 9S. The source material does not provide charging times, utilization figures, pricing or details about compatibility with vehicles from other manufacturers.

The 50-location figure marks the network’s current reach as reported by Mahindra Automotive. The report identifies the expressway station as the first operational site under the HPCL collaboration. It does not provide a breakdown of how many of the 50 locations are HPCL outlets or where the other stations are located.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced in the source report; the com…
The developmentCharge_iN by Mahindra has reached 50 locations in India, with its latest station opening at an HPCL site on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway.

Highway Charging Meets HPCL Retail

The new site puts Charge_iN equipment at an HPCL retail location on a major inter-city route. For drivers traveling between Mumbai and Pune, placing charging at an established roadside service centre may make it easier to include a charge stop alongside other amenities. The source report does not say how many drivers have used the site or whether it has changed travel patterns.

The first operational station under the agreement also moves the companies’ announced plan into deployment. If additional HPCL outlets are equipped, the partnership could extend Charge_iN’s presence through an existing retail network. The scale and pace of any further rollout have not been disclosed, so the 50-location milestone alone does not show how quickly coverage will expand.

The stated 180 kW charger specification is relevant to Mahindra SUV owners looking for public charging on highway journeys. Actual charging time can depend on the vehicle, battery state and other conditions; the source material supplies no session-level performance data. Readers should treat the charger rating as equipment capacity, not a guarantee of a particular charging time.

Amazon

180 kW EV fast charger

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

March Agreement Starts Deployment

In March, Mahindra and HPCL announced an agreement to develop EV charging infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets across India. The newly operational expressway station is the first site identified in the report as a result of that collaboration. The source does not give a schedule for opening additional locations.

Charge_iN is described as a public charging network operated by Mahindra. Its stations are reported to use 180 kW dual-gun chargers and to be placed along major highway corridors. The announcement links the network’s 50-location reach with the HPCL partnership, but does not say how many locations were added during a specific time period or provide an earlier count for comparison.

Amazon

Mahindra XEV 9e charging cable

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Rollout Pace and Coverage Unknown

The report does not state the exact date the 50th location opened, how many charging points the site contains, or what share of the network is located at HPCL outlets. It also gives no timeline, target number of sites or investment details for the broader agreement.

Other details that remain unreported include station pricing, charger availability, operating hours, utilization and charging performance in practice. Mahindra’s stated compatibility covers three named SUV models, but the source does not clarify whether vehicles from other brands can use the chargers. Those questions cannot be answered from the announcement provided.

Amazon

public EV charging station India

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

More HPCL Sites May Follow

The next development to watch is whether Mahindra and HPCL bring more charging locations online under their agreement. The companies have said they plan to develop infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets across India, but have not announced a rollout calendar or specific next sites in the source material.

Further updates would clarify the network’s expansion, the number of HPCL locations added and the services available to drivers at each site. Until the companies provide those details, 50 locations is the reported current network total, while the future size and timing of the HPCL rollout remain unspecified.

Amazon

highway EV charging station

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

How many Charge_iN locations are reported in India?

Mahindra’s Charge_iN network has reached 50 locations, according to the source report.

Where is the newest Charge_iN station?

It is at an HPCL Auto Care Centre on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway.

What is the Mahindra-HPCL agreement?

In March, the companies announced an agreement to develop EV charging infrastructure at HPCL retail outlets across India. The expressway site is reported as the first operational Charge_iN station under the collaboration.

What charger specification does Charge_iN report?

The source says Charge_iN stations use 180 kW dual-gun chargers. It does not provide charging-time or pricing details.

Which Mahindra SUVs are named as compatible?

The report names the XEV 9e, BE 6 SPORTEQ and XEV 9S. It does not clarify compatibility with vehicles from other manufacturers.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

This Chinese Luxury Brand Wants To Take Europe By The End Of The Year

A Chinese luxury brand is planning to expand into Europe by the end of 2023, marking a significant move in the global luxury market. Details are still emerging.

This Electric Camper SUV Has Heated Floors, A Loft, And Built-In Storage. See The SkyNomad N90 Max Studio.

The SkyNomad N90 Max Studio is an electric camper SUV featuring heated floors, a loft, and built-in storage, attracting rising interest among outdoor enthusiasts.

Honda Surges In Global Coverage

Honda’s media mentions have surged, with 38 reports in recent coverage, indicating heightened global attention on the company’s activities.

Tesla Confirms Next-Generation Roadster Reveal On October 1

Tesla has officially confirmed the reveal of its next-generation Roadster on October 1, marking a key update in its electric vehicle lineup. Details remain limited.